Home > General > Do you want a Virus?

Do you want a Virus?

Last week I saw a movie, 3 Idiots which I enjoyed a lot. In the movie, it is shown that the college students have affectionately named their dictatorial Professor Viru Sahastrabudhhe as Virus. This got me thinking into the title of my next blog post.

No, this blog is not about student and professor relationship. I am writing on actual computer virus. So, what is a Computer Virus? There are various definition available on the net but what I mean to ask is that has anybody seen a source code of a computer virus? No? OK… here it is…

X5O!P%@AP[4\PZX54(P^)7CC)7}$VIRUS-STANDARD-XXXXVIRUS-TEST-XXXX!$H+H*

This is the real source code of a virus. If you do not believe me then copy / paste the code in a text file and save it as a .com file on your PC… on second thoughts, please do not do it. Alarm bells will start ringing and your manager will catch my neck. 😉

Virus

These kinds of Virus source codes are published to provide a standardized process for testing anti-virus programs across different vendors. Basically, this virus does not harm your PC but is just flagged by the anti-virus program. If it does NOT then your anti-virus program is not so good and it is time for an upgrade!

Tags: ,
  1. 50040533
    January 8, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I really want to try it…i’ll surely try it on my roommate’s system….[:P]

  2. 00049666
    January 9, 2010 at 1:44 am

    Good one…..wanna see more like this… 🙂

  3. January 11, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    I have seen antivirus program barring Classic ASP scripts files on server to execute (hosted on IIS). Antivirus programs somehow treat them as a malicious script/program. Every time when a client request that specific page a alert popup from installed antivirus confirming that something is wrong happening. I don’t know the why in the world an antivirus would do that but when I disable the antivirus it just worked fine. This is insane.

    • January 11, 2010 at 11:43 pm

      I don’t know the why in the world an antivirus would do that but when I disable the antivirus it just worked fine.

      Basically, there are two types of Anit-Virus Scans.

      Scans that specifically check of pre-existing virus signature. These will catch only virus that exists in the anti-virus database. It won’t catch any new virus.
      Heuristic Virus Scans which check for generic virus look-a-like code. It might catch a valid code (like in your case) and report it as a virus.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

